Category Archives: Staunch Conservative


Grand Rapids Theological Seminary

Grand Rapids Theological Seminary (GRTS) of Cornerstone University is a multidenominational evangelical Christian seminary located in Grand Rapids, Michigan. GRTS is an accredited member of the Association of Theological Schools in the United States and Canada, The Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools, and is authorized by the Michigan State Board of Education to grant advanced theological degrees.

Grand Rapids Theological Seminary had its humble beginnings as an evening Bible institute at Wealthy Street Baptist Church in 1941. The Bible institute became a degree granting institution in 1963 and moved to its present location in 1964. The institution became a Christian liberal arts college in 1972 and became a state-approved university in 1999. Today Cornerstone University and Grand Rapids Theological Seminary share a 123-acre (0.50 km2) campus four miles (6 km) east of downtown Grand Rapids, Michigan. The campus currently supports the undergraduate college, with programs for traditional students as well as accelerated degree programs, graduate programs including Grand Rapids Theological Seminary and Asia Baptist Theological Seminary based in Thailand, and Cornerstone University Radio.

Grand Rapids Theological Seminary exists primarily to advance biblical knowledge and ministry skill, to encourage the development of critical thinking and worldview formation, to nurture a global ministry perspective, and to enhance culturally relevant ministry.

Today, Cornerstone and GRTS share a 130-acre campus less than five miles from downtown Grand Rapids and operate under a single board of trustees and university president. The seminary is located in the Leon J. Wood Seminary Building, which opened in 1977, and it has its own administrative staff and faculty.


Denver Seminary

Located in Littleton, Colorado, Denver Seminary is an evangelical graduate-level institution that offers a wide range of degrees that are not typically associated with other accredited seminaries. Denver Seminary prides itself in its emphasis on training and mentoring as well as its rigorous academics which are combined with a steady dose of spiritual formation. Moreover, Denver Seminary has graduated over 4,500 students and currently serves more than 1,000 students coming from more than 50 denominations.

On July 1, 2009, Dr. Mark Young became the seventh President of Denver Seminary. He is a theological educator and a pastoral leader with more than thirty years of global ministry experience.


Wesley Biblical Seminary

Wesley Biblical Seminary is a multi-denominational, graduate school of theology within the evangelical, Wesleyan-Arminian tradition. The seminary, founded in 1974 and located in Jackson, Mississippi, USA, serves men and women who come from thirty denominations from all across the United States and a number of other countries. WBS has its main residential campus in Jackson, MS, and a virtual campus made up of students from around the globe. The founding of Wesley Biblical Seminary grew out of the need for adequately prepared pastors within the Methodist tradition in the Deep South. It has since become global in its perspective and mission. In 1974, after two years of study, the Association of Independent Methodists voted to establish an interdenominational seminary committed to historic Methodist theology.

Dr. Ivan C. Howard became the seminary’s first president. The facilities of Wesley College in Florence, Mississippi, provided temporary housing for the seminary’s opening semester in September 1974. On July 22, 1975, Wesley Biblical Seminary was incorporated as an independent, non-denominational, non-profit educational institution with its Charter, By-laws and doctrinal statement duly adopted at the first Board of Trustees meeting on September 20, 1975. Subsequent to the death of Dr. Howard, Dr. Eldon R. Fuhrman was elected president in 1977. Dr. Fuhrman served the seminary as president for eight years, and returned to full-time teaching in 1985. Dr. Harold G. Spann assumed presidential leadership July 1, 1985. Dr. Robert Lawrence succeeded Dr. Spann as president in 1996. On January 15, 1998, Dr. Ronald E. Smith was elected as the fifth president of Wesley Biblical Seminary. He was followed in July 2010 by Dr. James L. Porter as the seminary’s sixth president.

The seminary is governed by a Board of Trustees composed of ministerial and lay leaders who represent the rich diversity of the Methodistic tradition. The seminary depends primarily upon gifts and pledges of concerned individuals, groups and churches for operational capital and endowment funding. Approximately one-fifth of the school’s funds are provided in tuition. All other funds are provided through the gifts of people who stand in support of the seminary.


Dallas Theological Seminary

Dallas Theological Seminary (DTS) is one of the largest conservative evangelical seminaries in the world with more than 70 denominations represented. Located in Dallas, Texas, the seminary has more than 14,000 alumni from over 100 countries serving the world. The seminary was founded by Lewis Sperry Chafer and W. H. Griffith Thomas in 1924. It has grown to have extension campuses in Atlanta, Austin, Guatemala, Houston, Knoxville, Philadelphia, San Antonio, Washington, D.C., and Tampa. DTS offers degrees in Master of Theology, Master of Arts, Doctoral Programs and Non-professional degrees. With past presidents including John Walvoord and Charles Swindoll, the seminary has been known for many years as the academic center of dispensationalism.

Dr. Mark L. Bailey succeeded Dr. Chuck Swindoll and assumed the Seminary’s presidency in 2001. Aside from being the president of Dallas Theological Seminary, Dr. Bailey is the professor of Bible Exposition and is thoroughly committed to upholding the seminary’s commitment to dispensationalism.